The Painting’s Other

“I put a spell on you because you’re mine.”

The Opening.

The Opening.

Dominic Mangila's.

Dominic Mangila’s.

That is the title of the exhibition of Dominic Mangila. He is a resident in New York where he also works. His paintings were displayed mostly abroad. He got his bachelor’s & master’s degree in the United States. Tonight, is the opening of his exhibit at the UP Vargas Museum.

Sounds for Stormy Saturday Evening.

Sounds for Stormy Saturday Evening.

I came in just right in time for a performance that I think was an intermission number. There was a pianist & a singer in front of a wooden planked wall that serves as a backdrop. She sang a variety of songs that some are familiar to the masses & some I didn’t recognized. It was a perfect break after that one message I received earlier that tore me apart again. Their music just gave me the right chills & feels.

The man reminded me of how I missed playing the piano. I realized I was moving my upper torso & fingers as if I was the one behind the instrument. I love how the piano can also make my body dance.

  Upon reading the description of the exhibit, I guess the performances also serve as the foreground of the artworks.

The crowd.

The crowd.

The exhibit is about…

Okay, I’ll just copy & paste the description here from the online page. Credits to the writer. To tell you honestly, I didn’t actually get the meaning of the F-clef like symbols in the canvasses. I saw scraps of material that were used in doing the F-clefs. Those were used for the outline of the symbols, I guess. But still, seeing a few works of art & hearing old school music is very relaxing.

F-clefs?

F-clefs?

“I Put a Spell on You Because You’re Mine explores the long standing tradition of painting (how its capacity to create a similitude of expression and idea regarding our being in the world transformed over time and how it remains a recurring enigma in reflecting why we become who we are, why we do the things that we do, how we relate to others, and what was once past, now, and perhaps tomorrow) through the translation of four disparate, cryptic meta-narratives. An amorphous assemblage/ bricolage, I Put a Spell on You Because You’re Mine invites the audience to look at the nature of painting and painting’s depiction of its nature today by focusing on the painting’s “Other” (the unknown where the sphere of its coming into being is that lies beyond what we know of painting, those things that were mirrored by painting to give it its meaning). Thus, the paintings become a backdrop of the museum space where Mangila, like a magician, allows his spectators to view the objects and performances as an exhibition with an emotional landscape, thus resonating David Joselit’s proposition that “Painting is beside itself”.”

So, you see-the artworks served also as a background for the performances. I think these paintings try to depict its meanings in the other way people don’t usually dwell on. I think its aim is to take us far from our usual thought if how a painting affects us. That’s how I see it.

The showcase where of few pieces. If you’ll know the meaning of the depictions, then your visit will guarantee satisfaction. Maybe I’ll come back again to study the paintings. Well, as I exited the building. I was welcomed again by cats. AGAIN.

SAM_3964

Cats everywhere. My everywhere.

SAM_3965SAM_3966

SAM_3959SAM_3955SAM_3956SAM_3960

SAM_3969

SAM_4023SAM_4021

Four days later, I went back to witness the Artist Talk. I came in time when he was just talking about incorporating his identity in his works. He was talking something about his Filipino roots and how they were put together with art. I still can’t understand where the ‘spell’ is but I truly respect the artist’s creativity. I can actually feel the spell somewhere but I am not sure of its meaning. I guess that it’s not important if things are not tangible. LET YOURSELF FEEL.

“I put a spell on you because you’re mine.”

SAM_4022

Based on my understanding, the exhibit was still a work in progress. He promised that on Saturday, the exhibit will not be like the one during the opening or the first talk. That explains the few pieces on display.

SAM_4019

The exhibit will run until November 25. The museum changes their showcase every month. UP Vargas Museum is usually open from Mondays to Saturdays 9:00am to 5:00 pm. 

Leave a Reply

